Thursday, December 12, 2013

Mitch Landrieu and Others Enter 2014 New Orleans Municipal Elections

By Joey Lehrman | Email the Author | Follow on Twitter

Mayor Mitch Landrieu qualifies for the 2014 New Orleans Mayoral Race
Although typically not a long election season, the 2014 municipal elections are fast underway with ball qualifying opening Wednesday and continuing through Friday.

As part of the required process for entering the mayoral race (or any other local election in New Orleans), current Mayor Mitch Landrieu signed his papers yesterday morning, making official all indications that the popular mayor would seek a second term. Landrieu was one of several candidates that completed the mandatory paperwork on Thursday, which included another candidate to enter the competitive race to be Orleans Parish's next Sheriff.

As you will note in the list of candidates below, many races will be sharply contested, especially the race for District C, which intensified earlier this week when the Council President Jackie Clarkson surprised her followers when she reversed her decision to retire as part of an attempt to reclaim her old seat in District C. It has since been revealed the Mayor Landrieu's administration played a large role in convincing the popular politician to run for another term.

The primary elections are scheduled to be held on Saturday, February 1, 2014, with any runoffs (if necessary) to be held on Saturday, March 15, 2014. According to local rules, candidates must receive an outright majority (50% + 1) to with the election on the primary, or the top two candidates will enter a runoff approximately 6 weeks later.

The deadline for condiates to qualify for the ballot is tomorrow, Friday, December 13, 2013.

Source: Ballotpedia

The following is a list of candidates running for elected office in New Orleans in 2014. Check back for updates of the final candidacy list; and, stay tuned for closer campaign coverage after the holidays when the election season will be in full swing.

* indicates incumbent

2014 New Orleans Mayoral Candidates

  • Mitch Landrieu*
  • Danatus King
  • Michael Bagneris (anticipated)

2014 Orleans Parish Sheriff Candidates

  • Marlin Gusman*
  • Charles Foti
  • Quentin Brown
  • Ira Thomas

Coroner's Office

  • Frank Minyard* (if qualified)
  • Dwight McKenna
  • Vincent Culotta Jr.
  • Jefferey Rouse

Criminal District Court Clerk

  • Arthur Morrell*

Clerk of Civil District Court

  • Dale Atkins*


  • Erroll Williams*

2014 New Orleans City Council Candidates

At-Large Division 1

  • Stacy Head
  • Eugene Green

At-Large Seat Division 2

  • Cynthia Hedge-Morrell
  • Jason Williams

District A

  • Susan Guidry*
  • Drew Ward

District B
  • LaToya Cantrell*

District C

  • Nadine Ramsey
  • Jackie Clarkson

District D

  • Jared Brossett
  • Joe Bouie

District E

  • James Gray*
  • Cynthia Willard-Lewis

Joey Lehrman is a retired teacher with over 40 years of experience in the New Orleans public school system. Since retiring, he has transitioned to sharing his experience and perspective and all things New Orleans through a variety of blogs, news-sites, and social networks.

No comments:

Post a Comment